Dubai mortgage for non residents in 2026: UK, Europe, India and GCC buyers
A Dubai mortgage for non residents comes from the few UAE banks that choose to lend to buyers living abroad, on terms each bank sets inside Central Bank of the UAE limits that do not mention non residents. This guide sets out the rules, the bank pages, the documents, the fees and the currency position for buyers in the UK, Europe, India and the Gulf, as read on 7 November 2026.

This article discusses regulation and costs that can change. Confirm current requirements with the relevant authority before acting.
A Dubai mortgage for non residents is available only from UAE banks that choose to lend to buyers living abroad, because the Central Bank of the UAE's mortgage regulation, Circular 31/2013, sets limits for UAE nationals and expatriates and does not mention non residents. On 7 November 2026, HSBC UAE's non resident page offered up to 60 per cent of a property's value, and the same Central Bank regulation caps every off plan mortgage at 50 per cent.
This guide explains how a mortgage in Dubai for foreigners who live in the UK, continental Europe, India or another Gulf state works in practice: what the regulation allows, what five bank pages published, which documents they list, what the Dubai Land Department (DLD) charges, and what a dirham loan means for someone paid in sterling, euros, rupees or riyals. Buyers in the United States and Canada have their own guide, UAE mortgages for US and Canadian citizens, which this article does not repeat.
This is general information, not financial, tax or legal advice. No bank, broker or developer can promise approval or a rate before a full application is assessed.
What do the Central Bank rules allow?
The Central Bank of the UAE (CBUAE) sets the ceilings in its Regulations Regarding Mortgage Loans, Circular 31/2013, often cited as Notice 31/2013, in force since 28 December 2013. Board Resolution 31/2/2020, effective 8 April 2020, raised the first home limits. As published in Article 3 in the CBUAE Rulebook, read on 7 November 2026, the maximum loan to value (LTV) is as follows.
- Expatriate, first home and owner occupier, property of AED 5 million or less: 80 per cent. One property per borrower may be claimed in this category.
- Expatriate, first home, property above AED 5 million: 70 per cent.
- Expatriate, second or subsequent home, or investment property: 60 per cent, regardless of value.
- UAE national, first home: 85 per cent up to AED 5 million and 75 per cent above; second and subsequent homes: 65 per cent.
- Any borrower buying off plan: 50 per cent, regardless of purpose, value or category of buyer.
The same article sets a maximum tenor of 25 years and limits total borrowing to 7 times annual income for expatriates. It caps the debt burden ratio, meaning all monthly debt repayments, at 50 per cent of gross salary and regular income from a defined source. Banks must stress test each loan at 2 to 4 percentage points above the current rate, and where rent from an investment property is counted, they must deduct at least two months of rent in the calculation.
The regulation does not set an age limit. Article 3 leaves the maximum age at final repayment to each bank's lending policy, and Article 2 requires a lender to consider whether retirement income is enough when a loan runs past retirement. Article 2 also requires the down payment to come from the borrower's own resources, "not from other sources of borrowing", and an independent valuation on site before the bank commits.
Neither article mentions non residents, and the definitions in Article 1 do not define an expatriate or refer to GCC nationals. A bank lending to someone who lives in London, Frankfurt, Mumbai or Riyadh therefore applies its own credit policy inside these ceilings, which is why the terms below differ from bank to bank.
What LTV does a non resident mortgage in the UAE allow?
Most overseas buyers are purchasing a second home or an investment, so the regulatory ceiling that usually applies is 60 per cent for a ready property and 50 per cent off plan. Whether a bank treats a non resident buying a holiday home as a first home buyer is a bank decision; none of the pages we read said so.
The published bank figures sit at or below the 60 per cent line. HSBC UAE stated "up to 60%" on 7 November 2026. Mashreq's non resident page showed "Up to 60%" in its banner, while its FAQ said it finances up to 50 per cent of fair market value for a non UAE resident; the page does not explain the difference, so ask the bank which figure applies to you. ADCB, First Abu Dhabi Bank and Emirates Islamic did not publish a non resident LTV.
In practice, the deposit decides the purchase. At 60 per cent, the buyer funds 40 per cent of the price in cash, plus all fees. Off plan, the buyer funds at least half, often in instalments due long before handover.
Which banks offer a Dubai mortgage for non residents?
Each point below is what the bank's own page stated on 7 November 2026. None carried a date other than a copyright year, so treat every figure as subject to confirmation.
- HSBC UAE. Applicants must be HSBC Private Bank or Premier customers, or eligible for an account, which then services repayments. The page offers up to 60 per cent of value, a valuation for AED 2,625 including VAT, a signature on the loan document in person, and arrangement in up to 14 working days. It does not state a minimum income, tenor or age limit. HSBC's rates page states that different rates apply to people who live outside the UAE.
- Mashreq. The page offers up to AED 15 million over a maximum of 25 years to salaried and self employed applicants, including those working outside the UAE, for a residential property in Dubai bought as an investment or second home. It states no minimum income or age limit and says the loan officer assesses eligibility.
- ADCB. Its mortgage FAQs say facilities are open to eligible non residents. The minimum loan for a non resident is AED 750,000, against AED 250,000 for residents. A non resident may borrow for up to 15 years, against 25 for residents, and the loan must mature by age 60, against 65 for a salaried resident. ADCB states that a minimum income does not apply to non residents, who instead need AED 200,000 held with the bank, a savings account for repayments and ADCB group life cover. It finances up to two completed properties for a non resident and does not finance property under construction for them.
- First Abu Dhabi Bank. Its page for non UAE residents offers loans of up to 10 million, without stating the currency, at variable rates linked to EIBOR or a rate it calls MBR. It does not publish an LTV, a minimum income or an age limit, and states that there are no approval in principle fees.
- Emirates Islamic. Its Manzili home finance page sets out documents for salaried and self employed non residents, and its FAQ says non residents can apply subject to the bank's criteria. Its finance percentages are stated for expatriates and nationals, not for non residents.
We could not read Emirates NBD's own home loan page on 7 November 2026, so this guide does not state its terms. Dubai Islamic Bank's undated non resident leaflet, covered in our US and Canadian guide, states up to 75 per cent; confirm any figure above the 60 per cent expatriate investment ceiling with the bank.
Which documents does an overseas buyer need for a Dubai mortgage?
Document lists differ by bank, and none of the pages we read on 7 November 2026 named a specific foreign credit bureau. We found no bank page that lists a UK credit file or an Indian CIBIL report by name, so ask the bank, in writing, what it accepts from your country.
- Mashreq asks for an application form, a valid passport and the latest three months of bank statements.
- First Abu Dhabi Bank asks for a mortgage application form, proof of income and the sale and purchase agreement, plus anything its mortgage specialist requests.
- Emirates Islamic asks salaried non residents for a passport, an original salary certificate less than 45 days old, the last three months of pay slips where applicable, six months of bank statements showing salary credits, a liability or reference letter, tax returns for the previous two years where applicable, a credit bureau report where applicable, and the property documents.
- Emirates Islamic asks self employed non residents for a trade licence, chamber of commerce registration, memorandum and articles of association, two years of audited financial statements, 12 months of business and personal account statements, tax returns and a credit bureau report where applicable.
The categories are the same in the UK, Europe, India or the Gulf: pay slips or a salary certificate, tax returns, home country bank statements and, where the bank asks, a credit report from your country of residence. The precise form of each, and whether a certified translation is needed, is for the bank to confirm. Our mortgage document checklist lets you build a list by profile.
On the DLD side, the mortgage registration page, last updated on 3 November 2026, accepts a copy of the passport for a non resident foreigner registering through a trustee office, with the bank's letter, three mortgage contracts certified by the bank and signed by both parties, and an electronic no objection certificate from the developer for an off plan property. A power of attorney is needed if a representative attends.
What does the mortgage cost beyond the interest?
Four sets of costs sit on top of the interest rate, and only some are published.
- Mortgage registration. The DLD charges 0.25 per cent of the mortgage value for an ordinary mortgage, AED 250 for issuing the title deed and AED 10 each in knowledge and innovation fees, according to its page last updated on 3 November 2026. A trustee office adds a service fee of AED 4,000 plus VAT for a ready property, or AED 5,000 plus VAT for an off plan, or Oqood, registration.
- Valuation. HSBC charges AED 2,625 including VAT, as published on 7 November 2026. Other banks did not publish a valuation fee for non residents.
- Arrangement or processing fee. HSBC's rates page lists 0.5 per cent of the loan, with a minimum of AED 5,000, both before VAT, for Premier and Private Bank customers on a new purchase, and notes that the fee may include a broker fee. Emirates Islamic lists a 1 per cent processing fee on standard applications.
- Early settlement. The CBUAE caps the fee for repaying a home loan early, in full or in part, at 1 per cent of the outstanding balance or AED 10,000, whichever is less, before VAT, in Appendix 2 of Regulation 29/2011 as restored by a Board decision effective 8 October 2019. Gulf News reported the change on 10 October 2019. ADCB's FAQs show the same cap inclusive of VAT, 1.05 per cent or AED 10,500.
We could not verify a Central Bank cap on arrangement fees. The CBUAE fee table for retail customers lists caps for home loan early settlement, late payment and letters, but no row for a mortgage arrangement or processing fee. The Consumer Protection Regulation, in force since 25 December 2020, says licensed institutions "must not charge unreasonable fees" and must disclose them, without setting a number. Compare each bank's key facts statement instead.
The property transfer fee on the purchase itself is a separate DLD charge. Our mortgage calculator adds purchase costs to the deposit so you can see the total cash needed.
How does a loan in dirhams work for sterling, euro, rupee and Gulf earners?
The loan, the repayments and the property price are all in dirhams. The CBUAE states that it "maintains a fixed exchange rate of the UAE Dirham against the US Dollar", buying dirhams at 3.673 and selling at 3.672, and its published rate was AED 3.6725 on every day of September 2026. The peg is to the US dollar only. Every other currency moves against the dirham as it moves against the dollar.
The CBUAE's own September 2026 table shows what that means.
- Sterling. AED 4.974265 to the pound on 1 September 2026 and AED 4.876711 on 30 September 2026, a fall of about 2 per cent. A fixed dirham instalment cost a UK earner about 2 per cent more in pounds at the end of the month than at the start.
- Euro. AED 4.260441 on 1 September 2026 and AED 4.169505 on 30 September 2026, a fall of about 2.1 per cent.
- Indian rupee. AED 0.038676 on 1 September 2026 and AED 0.038321 on 30 September 2026, a fall of about 0.9 per cent.
- Saudi riyal. The Saudi Central Bank has affirmed an official rate of 3.75 riyals to the US dollar, in a 2020 release. With both currencies tied to the dollar, a Saudi salary covers a dirham instalment at a stable cross rate for as long as both pegs hold.
- Kuwaiti dinar. The Central Bank of Kuwait states that the dinar has been pegged since 20 May 2007 to an undisclosed weighted basket of currencies, so a Kuwaiti earner carries some movement against the dirham.
For buyers elsewhere in the Gulf, check your own central bank's published regime before assuming a stable cross rate. The interest rate itself can still move: HSBC and First Abu Dhabi Bank both publish variable loans linked to EIBOR, the dirham reference rate.
UK buyers should also read our guide to buying UAE property from the UK, which covers how HMRC treats Dubai rent and gains. Any home country tax on rent, interest or a currency gain is a question for an adviser in your country.
Can an NRI get a home loan for Dubai property, and what about Indian residents?
The answer depends on where the borrower lives, not on nationality. An Indian national who lives and earns in the UAE is an expatriate resident and falls under the resident LTV bands. An NRI who lives and earns in London, Singapore or Riyadh applies to a UAE bank as a non resident, with income documents from the country of work, and the bank terms above apply.
A resident of India is in a different position. The Reserve Bank of India's LRS FAQs, updated on 6 April 2023, allow resident individuals to remit up to USD 250,000 per financial year and say the scheme "does not envisage extension of fund and non fund based facilities" by banks for capital account remittances. That passage is about Indian banks financing the remittance. Neither the FAQs nor any RBI page we read says whether a resident individual may take a mortgage from a UAE bank for a property bought under the LRS. The CBUAE's rule that the down payment must come from the borrower's own resources adds a second test on the UAE side.
Treat a UAE mortgage for an Indian resident as unresolved. Confirm the position in writing with an Indian chartered accountant before you apply, and before you sign a reservation that depends on the loan. Our guide to buying UAE property from India covers the LRS limit, family pooling, tax collected at source and foreign asset reporting.
What it means for investors
For a non resident, leverage is lower and the loan is a narrower product. On an illustrative ready apartment priced at AED 2 million, a 60 per cent loan is AED 1.2 million and the cash share of the price is AED 800,000. The DLD registration fee at 0.25 per cent of the loan is AED 3,000, before the deed, trustee and bank fees. At the CBUAE rates for 30 September 2026, the price is about GBP 410,100, EUR 479,700 or INR 5.22 crore, and the loan about GBP 246,100. These are arithmetic illustrations, not an offer from any bank.
Tenor limits matter as much as the loan to value. At ADCB, a non resident aged 50 could borrow over at most 10 years to mature by 60, while Mashreq publishes 25 years. Ask each bank for its age limit before comparing monthly payments.
Off plan financing is the tightest area. The CBUAE cap is 50 per cent for every borrower, ADCB does not finance property under construction for non residents, and none of the other pages we read addressed off plan lending to non residents directly. Plan to fund an off plan purchase in cash until handover, and treat a later mortgage as an option rather than an assumption.
Currency is the risk that differs most by country. A buyer paid in US dollars or Saudi riyals carries little exchange movement against the dirham. A buyer paid in sterling, euros or rupees carries it on every instalment and on the outstanding balance, and the CBUAE's September 2026 table shows a 2 per cent move within one month. A buyer who rents the property out in dirhams offsets part of that exposure, because rent and repayment share a currency.
What we recommend
- Decide whether you need leverage or simply want to keep cash free, because a 50 or 60 per cent loan still requires a large deposit.
- Ask at least three banks, in writing, for their current non resident LTV, tenor, age limit, minimum loan, account requirement and document list for your country of residence and income type, and record the date of each answer.
- Gather tax returns, pay slips, six months of bank statements and a home country credit report before you reserve a property, and ask each bank which credit report it accepts.
- For off plan, assume cash until handover unless a bank confirms in writing that it will lend on that project for a non resident.
- If you earn in sterling, euros or rupees, model the instalment at a weaker exchange rate before you commit.
- If you live in India, put the UAE mortgage question to a chartered accountant in writing first.
Confirm the current position with the authority before relying on it. Bank terms, DLD fees and Central Bank rules change, and every figure here is dated 7 November 2026.
Castilion Estates' mortgage desk compares lenders for non resident buyers. It is operated by Castilion Realty L.L.C., licensed by RERA as a Real Estate Mortgage Broker (ORN 46392); it is not a lender and cannot change a bank's credit decision or guarantee a rate. Start with the non resident mortgage page, check your profile on the eligibility page, and when you are ready, apply through the mortgage desk.
Questions and answers
Can a UK expat get a mortgage in Dubai while living outside the UAE?
What is the maximum LTV for a non resident mortgage in the UAE?
Which documents does an overseas buyer need for a Dubai mortgage?
Can an Indian resident take a UAE mortgage for property bought under the LRS?
Do European and British buyers carry currency risk on a Dubai mortgage?
What does it cost to register a mortgage in Dubai?
Sources
- CBUAE Regulations Regarding Mortgage Loans, Article 3 Important Ratios, Circular 31/2013, effective 28 December 2013, LTV by borrower category, off plan 50 per cent, 25 year tenor, income multiples, 50 per cent debt burden and stress test (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook. Accessed .
- CBUAE Board Resolution 31/2/2020 amending Circular 31/2013, first home LTV for nationals and expatriates, effective 8 April 2020 (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook. Accessed .
- CBUAE Regulations Regarding Mortgage Loans, Article 2 Risk Management Requirements, verified income, independent valuation, retirement income and down payment from own resources (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook. Accessed .
- Appendix 2 to Regulation 29/2011, maximum fees on retail services, home loan early and partial settlement capped at 1 per cent of the outstanding balance or AED 10,000, fees exclude VAT (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook. Accessed .
- Board Decision 96 of 2019 amending Appendix 2 of Regulation 29/2011, home loan early settlement restored to the 1 per cent or AED 10,000 cap, effective 8 October 2019 (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook. Accessed .
- Consumer Protection Regulation C 8/2020, effective 25 December 2020, licensed institutions must not charge unreasonable fees and must disclose costs and fees (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of the UAE Rulebook. Accessed .
- HSBC UAE non residents mortgage, Premier or Private Bank customers, up to 60 per cent of value, valuation AED 2,625 including VAT, signature in person, up to 14 working days (opens in a new tab). HSBC Bank Middle East, UAE. Accessed .
- HSBC UAE mortgage rates and fees, arrangement fee of 0.5 per cent with a minimum of AED 5,000 before VAT, early settlement terms, different rates for applicants living outside the UAE (opens in a new tab). HSBC Bank Middle East, UAE. Accessed .
- Mashreq home loan for non residents, up to 60 per cent in the banner and 50 per cent in the FAQ, up to AED 15 million, 25 year maximum tenor, documents (opens in a new tab). Mashreq. Accessed .
- ADCB mortgage services FAQs, non resident minimum loan AED 750,000, 15 year maximum tenor, maturity by age 60, AED 200,000 held with the bank, completed properties only, group life cover (opens in a new tab). Abu Dhabi Commercial Bank. Accessed .
- First Abu Dhabi Bank home loans for non UAE residents, up to 10 million, EIBOR or MBR linked variable rates, documents (opens in a new tab). First Abu Dhabi Bank. Accessed .
- Emirates Islamic Manzili home finance, document lists for salaried and self employed non residents including tax returns and a credit bureau report where applicable, 1 per cent processing fee (opens in a new tab). Emirates Islamic. Accessed .
- Mortgage registration application, 0.25 per cent of mortgage value, AED 250 title deed, AED 10 knowledge and AED 10 innovation fees, trustee fees of AED 4,000 and AED 5,000 plus VAT, passport copy for non resident foreigners, page updated 3 November 2026 (opens in a new tab). Dubai Land Department. Accessed .
- How the monetary system works, fixed exchange rate of the dirham against the US dollar, buy at 3.673 and sell at 3.672, page updated 24 February 2026 (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of the UAE. Accessed .
- Exchange rates against the UAE dirham, September 2026, US dollar at 3.6725 on every day, sterling, euro and rupee rates on 1 and 30 September 2026 (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of the UAE. Accessed .
- SAMA affirms commitment to exchange rate policy, official rate of 3.75 riyals to the US dollar, 2020 (opens in a new tab). Saudi Central Bank. Accessed .
- Exchange rate policy, Kuwaiti dinar pegged to an undisclosed weighted basket of currencies since 20 May 2007 (opens in a new tab). Central Bank of Kuwait. Accessed .
- Liberalised Remittance Scheme FAQs, USD 250,000 per financial year for resident individuals, no bank credit facilities for capital account remittances, updated 6 April 2023 (opens in a new tab). Reserve Bank of India. Accessed .
- Early settlement charges on home loans in UAE reduced, cap reverted to 1 per cent or AED 10,000 and refunds within 30 days, updated 10 October 2019 (opens in a new tab). Gulf News. Accessed .
- UAE Central Bank lowers early settlement fee for mortgages, ceiling of 1 per cent of the remaining balance or AED 10,000 (opens in a new tab). Cavendish Maxwell. Accessed .
Where Castilion can help
- Castilion Mortgage AdvisoryA licensed mortgage broker, in the same firm.
- Mortgage eligibilityWhat UAE banks will lend, by profile.
Weighing a decision this touches?
Our licensed team can talk it through with you, in confidence and without obligation.
Talk to an Advisor
